Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Lightworks default folder

Lightworks default folder 2 months, 1 week ago #194454

• PickerDad
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 2 months, 1 week ago
I'm new to Lightworks, so forgive me if this is obvious.

It seems that by default, Lightworks stores all its project files on the C: drive. Mine is pretty full and Windows is starting to slow down. How do I specify a different location, with lots of room?

Re: Lightworks default folder 2 months, 1 week ago #194466

• jwrl
    Pro User
  • 2 months, 1 week ago
Project files are usually a few K in size. They shouldn't take up much room. That's fortunate, because at the moment you can't specify alternate locations.

Re: Lightworks default folder 2 months, 1 week ago #194471

• briandrys
    Pro User
  • 2 months, 1 week ago
Regardless of Lightworks, I would upgrade to a larger C drive, things only start to get worse when you get close to it being full.

Re: Lightworks default folder 2 months, 1 week ago #194473

• hugly
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 2 months, 1 week ago
Samsung M.2 SSD 970 Pro 512 GB is what I run as system drive, very nice device.

Do you know how to create hardlinks on Windows, in particular the objects Microsoft calls 'Junction'?
It's better to travel well than to arrive...

Re: Lightworks default folder 2 months, 1 week ago #194492

• schrauber
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 2 months, 1 week ago
PickerDad wrote:
It seems that by default, Lightworks stores all its project files on the C: drive.

There are several subfolders in this "Lightworks" folder. Maybe the "Projects" folder is less your problem? Depending on your import method, proxy creation, or a lot of mp3 files, the "Media" folder may take up more space. Lightworks can manage multiple media locations on different drives.

Because this is a bit complicated for new users, and wrong settings can lead to problems, it is questionable whether this is worthwhile.