Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Super Slow Motion with low fps

Super Slow Motion with low fps 1 month, 4 weeks ago #224497

• sharkyboy321
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 1 month, 4 weeks ago
Hi, I'm quite new to editing. I've recently been interested in slowing down sporting events such as boxing etc to super slow speeds. However, the video becomes very jumpy and you can see each frame playing because the sporting events arent recorded in high fps. It's not smooth. I've done research into AI fps interpolation and downloaded the Dain Alpha software which worked well but my GPU's vram isn't strong enough so my video goes from HD to 240p. Is there any plugins available on Lightworks that can help me with my problem or any software that I can download? Thank you!

Re: Super Slow Motion with low fps 1 month, 4 weeks ago #224501

• briandrys
    Pro User
  • 1 month, 4 weeks ago
Welcome to the forum.

Please don't double post or your case quadrupole post, it causes confusion. I've deleted your other posts on this subject.

What frame speed do you require?
Last Edit: 1 month, 4 weeks ago by briandrys.

Re: Super Slow Motion with low fps 1 month, 3 weeks ago #224502

• hugly
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 1 month, 3 weeks ago
Still, nothing compares to real high fps recordings when it comes to playback in slow motion. For 30 fps, this means capturing with e,g, 120 fps for up to 25% slow motion (factor 4) or 300 fps for up to 10% slow motion (factor 10).

All software I've ever tested, commercial and free, which use frame interpolation for slow motion, create results with more or less visible artifacts, depending on the content. Highly critical are moving objects over moving background (panning camera), which is what most sporting events usually show.

However, I wasn't aware that Nvidia have invented artificial intelligence with deep learning for frame interpolation and, that doesn't look bad at all, at least with the samples they show: