Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Looking for transition effects

Looking for transition effects 8 months ago #174637

Greetings all,

I'm very new to any manner of video editing, so a full program like Lightworks has been a bit of a hurdle to start (especially because things never go right for me with technology and I always get to deal with the rarely seen errors and problems with every endeavor). I've just started messing with transitions, and was wondering if there's a way to add new transitions to the free version (and which one I would be looking for, perhaps cross dissolve?), or if I can use the existing dissolve transition in a different way. I'm hoping to have a transition where one video fades into the next, without it being a fade to a black/whatever screen inbetween, but I haven't been able to figure it out so far.

Anyone able to offer some assistance?

Many thanks

Re: Looking for transition effects 8 months ago #174641

• fishmonger
    Pro User
  • 8 months ago
All is possible of course, but given what you say I strongly recommend taking time to go though at least some of the tutorial videos,
good luck!
f

Re: Looking for transition effects 8 months ago #174642

• jwrl
    Pro User
  • 8 months ago
There are several things to be aware of with transitions. The first is to always remember that Lightworks cannot invent media. If you butt the start of one clip to the end of another you will never be able to apply any sort of transition. There is no overlapping media available for Lightworks to use.

If on the other hand you have edited those same two shots differently it will work. If you edited the incoming shot starting six frames after its actual start to the other clip six frames before it actually ended you will be able to do a twelve frame dissolve at the cut point.