• Page:

TOPIC: Newbie questions re kemroll, syncs etc

Newbie questions re kemroll, syncs etc 5 years, 8 months ago #40678

• HAZET
  • Pro User
  • Junior Boarder
  • 5 years, 8 months ago
Hi,

Being a complete newbie, I am struggling a little with things the pros will probably be able to answer without even thinking. I'd be happy with a pointer to the right docu/tutorial/forum post.

First, what do I want to do. I have recorded an amateur theatre production. I had a Panasonic HDC SD90 that I just kept running capturing the whole stage for both acts seperately. Then I had a stereo microphone much closer to the stage and recorded continuous sound using Audacity. I have that as a WAV-file. To make the thing more interesting, I recorded some close-ups with my Canon 7D.

Now, the SD90 recorded AVCHD, split to 4 GB files. Couldn't use them in LW directly, though I have a pro license, as at the joins between the split-parts it showed a few frames of green. Odd. I then used tsmuxer to create one file per act, works better. Don't know yet if I am loosing anything that way.

I experimented a little and found I can rather easily use "Make synchronizer" to get a, well, a sync? Made of my SD90 clips and the separate sound.

Question 1: what is a sync as compared to an edit? I can use it like a track in another edit, correct?

I found kemroll. Sounds interesting, like just what I'd need for the extra shots taken with the 7D. But the clips from the 7D don't seem to have the necessary timrcode, is that right?

Question 2: Is there an easy way to create a kemroll from 7D footage?

Question 3: I see a function called "Auto synchronize". What does it do?

Question 4: What is the difference between "Make sync" and "Make synchronizer"?

Sorry if these are all stupid questions. I was studying the user manual, but either some topics aren't covered or I am just too daft to understand.

Thanks a bunch!
Henrik

Re: Newbie questions re kemroll, syncs etc 5 years, 8 months ago #40684