Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Is there a way to left-right justify text in a roll?

Is there a way to left-right justify text in a roll? 4 days, 22 hours ago #232226

• Brickie78
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 4 days, 22 hours ago
Apologies, I'm still learning, so it may well be there's a screamingly obvious thing I've missed.

I'm doing some videos on Formula 1, and want to use the text roll to show the grid positions at the start of a race. As you may or may not know, the cars line up left and right, so I want rather than one central column of text, two staggered columns, IYSWIM.

... As it is, the roll defaults to centred, and so I use spaces before/after each line to move the text to where I want it, but it's messy and difficult to get it aligned properly when names are different lengths and so on. youtu.be/gQND4xWLTqY?t=254 for an example of what the end result looks like.

It's ... fine, but is there any better solution for achieving what I want to?
Last Edit: 4 days, 22 hours ago by Brickie78.

Re: Is there a way to left-right justify text in a roll? 4 days, 22 hours ago #232229

• hugly
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 4 days, 22 hours ago
Hello,

Changing the text alignment within a single roll effect isn't possible. Using two rolls, one for the left block, one for the right could be a workaround, but perhaps not trivial to synchronize properly.

I think, I would do that with a text processor which allows rendering to PNG with text over transparency (e.g. MS PowerPoint) and animate it via the Image effect in Lightworks.
It's better to travel well than to arrive...

Re: Is there a way to left-right justify text in a roll? 4 days, 21 hours ago #232235

• Brickie78
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 4 days, 21 hours ago
Thanks. Looks like I need to learn to do a new thing in Open Office then.