Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Audio lag

Audio lag 1 week, 3 days ago #218696

• Viminalis
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 1 week, 3 days ago
Newbie here; I've never edited even audio before. Thanks for this wonderful resource.

The purpose is to create some didactic videos about music from home. There is a speaker and short musical clips are interspersed. These are taken from YouTube, mostly, respecting legal rights as far as we know. We haven't yet used our own CDs; we have recorded bits from our DVDs with Windows+G... but that's another story. We've managed to assemble two programmes, recording the explanations with an iPhone and diving right into LightWorks with abandon.

For the third programme, the speaker has recorded himself on Windows Recorder. The videos look alright when played on VLC. But when we import them to LightWorks, some (not all) of these recordings show a very noticeable and variable lag between video and audio.

I've checked some of the posts here trying to find a solution. Some of the methods I've used might be magical thinking, but... I've moved the source videos to the hard disk. I've downloaded HandBrake and converted the videos to the same frame rate, so as to use Auto instead of Mixed Rates (as in the first two programmes). I've added videos and audios separately to the timeline using the alt+v shortcut. (I've since tweaked the Realtek drivers, following instructions given here, but after recording, so the clips are the same.)

One of several strange things (for me, obvs): yesterday, LightWorks couldn't reproduce properly the first two programmes; the lag was awful. It has disappeared today.

The problem is that the lag is unreliable. We adjust video and sound carefully in our project and then, after exporting, there is a somewhat different lag, but a very noticeable one.

I'm attaching the MediaInfo of one of the offending videos. Thank you all.
Attachments: