Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Masking an effect

Masking an effect 1 week, 4 days ago #189255

• Frallowitsch
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 1 week, 4 days ago
Hello Guys,

I am new to Lightworks and I am trying to cut a little advertising spot about my sport Swingolf (it does exist mostly only in Germany and France). However, I have relativly simple task: I wand to make look the shown image in black and white / greyscale – or better: with a saturation closely to zero. Just the ball should stay as bright orange as it is.

So, I thought it should be possible to give this segment the effect "Color Correction" which is masked with a Color Mask (or maybe with an animated 2D-Shape-Mask). I am trying and experimenting with the several effects (Masked Blend etc.) but I don't get to the point...
This image is hidden for guests. Please log in or register to see it.

How do I have to structure the routing and which objects/effects do I need to use?
May some of the experts here help me?

Okay, another possibility would be to duplicate the segment to another video track, then mask it and then give it the color correction. But I'd say this would be a not-so-smart-way of doing this job...

Re: Masking an effect 1 week, 4 days ago #189256

• jwrl
    Pro User
  • 1 week, 4 days ago
Right. The effect that you're asking about is commonly called "the Pleasantville effect". It's simple to achieve, and can be done in several ways. The simplest is probably to download and install the "Colour mask" effect. You'll find it in ART EFFECTS, along with a link to instructions on how to install user effects.

It does everything in the one effect. As well as selective colourgrading, it also has angled cropping built in.
Last Edit: 1 week, 4 days ago by jwrl.

Re: Masking an effect 1 week, 3 days ago #189288

• Frallowitsch
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 1 week, 3 days ago
Hey, thank you for the super fast reply!
This is exactly what I had in mind, thanks also for that.