Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: QScan not using full CPU power

QScan not using full CPU power 3 days, 20 hours ago #235587

• andrega
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 3 days, 20 hours ago
Hello,

I installed QScan One on a Windows Server 2016 Essentials machine with two 8 Core CPUs.
I tested several file formats and Templates but CPU usage never goes above 20% to 25%.
As a test I installed QScan Free on my Macbook Pro in a Windows 10 virtual machine and ran some of the same files and templates. The CPU was always maxed out.
Any ideas as to why QScan on the server machine doesn't use more CPU power?

Thanks,
André

Re: QScan not using full CPU power 3 days, 18 hours ago #235590

• hugly
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 3 days, 18 hours ago
Hello,

I have no experience with QScan and doubt that others have, because QScan is brand new on this forum. However, comparably low CPU usage when encoding/decoding video on server type multicore CPUs (read: Intel XEON) with Lightworks is a known phenomenon. The reasons/causes are unknown.

It might be helpful if you could share your computer details. Perhaps there are people who have a similar configuration and can share their experience?

What I would do is comparing the systems with a common video converter, e.g. Handbrake, with the same media and settings, but not only to measure the CPU usage, but also the encoding performance (duration and speed).
It's better to travel well than to arrive...
Last Edit: 3 days, 18 hours ago by hugly.

Re: QScan not using full CPU power 19 hours, 12 minutes ago #235769

• QScan-Admin
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • 19 hours, 12 minutes ago
Hello Andrega,

Just by seeing your machine specifications, that CPU usage is normal. Note that some codecs do not really require more CPU usage to perform the decoding/analysis. Even if you add more cores to your machine, the decoding will not be faster, since you are using a high end machine.