Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: OPEN LETTER TO LIGHTWORKS ABOUT PROBLEMS WITH MAC VERSION

OPEN LETTER TO LIGHTWORKS ABOUT PROBLEMS WITH MAC VERSION 4 years, 8 months ago #86081

• markatkin
  • Pro User
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 4 years, 8 months ago
LETTER TO LIGHTWORKS TEAM;

I'm writing to pass on some feedback about the Mac version of Lightworks that I attempted to use on a major Australian television series.

I'm a freelance editor based in Melbourne, Australia and an accredited member of the Australian Screen Editors guild. Over the past 25 years I've worked in various areas of film and television, but most of my credits are in TV documentaries and drama. These include series screened in the UK and the US such as "The Slap" and "Mrs Biggs".

I have been a fan of Lightworks since the early 1990s - it was the first NLE system I used. During the 2000s, like many others, I was obliged to use Avid and later used FCP. I became comfortable with both systems, but have always preferred the UI and console of Lightworks. So when Lightworks announced plans for a Mac version I was delighted.

Recently I began work on a series that only required one editor and I realised this was an opportunity to use the new Mac version of Lightworks. My assistant embraced the chance to learn a new system and researched it. This included getting advice from Jill Bilcock's (internationally renowned feature film editor who has always used Lightworks) assistant. My company, Uncut Pictures, purchased 3 "pro" licences and the Avid DNX plug-ins.
In the Avid dominated world of TV drama, the decision to use Lightworks was considered by many of my colleagues to be a surprise and a risky choice. But given that Lightworks had held off releasing the Mac version to get it right, I was confident we wouldn't have serious difficulties and relished the chance to use it. Unfortunately, those hopes have proven misplaced.