Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Tools menu is absent

Tools menu is absent 3 months, 4 weeks ago #206791

• tabanowa
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 3 months, 4 weeks ago
I am a brand new user, just getting going. I have two questions: First, I have two internal drives - one 250GB boot drive where I store applications, and a 1TB drive where I store my data. Lightworks seems to insist on setting up all its data files on my boot drive and I cannot figure out how to change the default. In researching this, I found an answer in the forum and was watching a video on how to change media locations. The user in the video was using a "Tools" menu that showed on the left side in the Lightworks app. I don't see "Tools" anywhere in my version. So, my second question is, where do I find the Tools menu? If I can't access that, it doesn't seem that I can do anything in Lightworks...

I'm dazed and confused! I am a self-taught editor using mainly Adobe Premiere Pro. Got a new computer and was hoping to find a decent freeware video editor (something better than iMovie).

Re: Tools menu is absent 3 months, 4 weeks ago #206792

• tabanowa
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 3 months, 4 weeks ago
It may be that the media locations can only be changed with the "Pro" version, which I don't have...

Re: Tools menu is absent 3 months, 4 weeks ago #206793

• arniepix
    Pro User
  • 3 months, 4 weeks ago
you cannot change where the project files themselves are saved with the free version, but you can change the media location.

click on the tab that shows your project name in the top left corner of your Lightworks screen, then click the "Media" tab in the window that opens. You can add or remove media drives in that window.
I work in Manhattan, USA, but at night I cross the waters to sleep in Brooklyn, USA.

Also, post production is not an afterthought!

Re: Tools menu is absent 3 months, 4 weeks ago #206794

• tabanowa
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 3 months, 4 weeks ago