Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: deleting sections on a video clip

deleting sections on a video clip 1 month, 1 week ago #223829

• ssubas
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 1 month, 1 week ago
I'm a novice.
Trying to delete sections on a single video clip.

After deleting a section; the deleted section remains on the timeline, as a separate section. How do I get the deleted section out of the timeline?

thanks

Re: deleting sections on a video clip 1 month, 1 week ago #223830

• jwrl
    Pro User
  • 1 month, 1 week ago
What are you doing that you believe is deleting the section?

The quick way to actually delete a section in Lightworks is to mark one end of the section that you want to delete by pressing either the i or o key, then park the timeline cursor at the other end of the section that you wish to remove. Press the z key to delete that section but leave a gap where it was, or press the x key to delete that section and close the gap.
Last Edit: 1 month, 1 week ago by jwrl.

Re: deleting sections on a video clip 1 month, 1 week ago #223831

• briandrys
    Pro User
  • 1 month, 1 week ago
Jwrl has given you the quickest method, the one that the professionals use. There are a number of other methods available to either delete or remove sections of a segment in the timeline after you've marked ("i" or "o") and parked the section. So, you're not limited in choice.

Using "a" and "s" speeds up accurately placing the timeline cursor at either the start or end of the clip after you've marked it.

There's more on mark and park here: www.lwks.com/index.php?option=com_kunena&func=view&catid=27&id=110089&Itemid=81
Last Edit: 1 month, 1 week ago by briandrys.

Re: deleting sections on a video clip 1 month, 1 week ago #223902

• ssubas
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 1 month, 1 week ago
Your "delete" tip worked once. Now doesn't. Please see attached file.

Thanks.

Note there are images on the viewer, but not on the timeline (don’t know why).