Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Playing a video import is choppy in lightworks. Are my specs too low to run it?.

Playing a video import is choppy in lightworks. Are my specs too low to run it?. 6 years, 3 months ago #19127

• myso
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 6 years, 3 months ago
I've got:

Intel Core 2 Duo
Nvidia Geforce 8800 GTS
8gbs Ram
Win 7(64)

I'm importing an MP4 640x360 file (8bit AVC 30fps). When I go to play it, it will play the first second or two, then the video will freeze while the audio continues. Are my specs too low? I'm coming from windows live movie maker so I'm no pro. All I wanted to do is add a watermark and someone recommended lightworks. It looks like I'll be able to do that any way without the need to play the clip in lightworks, though my last attempt at encoding it with my added watermark was going to take over an hour for a 12.5 minute clip (is that normal?) so I abandoned it and looked around to see if I was doing something wrong. Maybe it's just my hardware.

From the tuts I've watched, I like lightworks and if I can get it working properly, I think I'd like to switch completely to using it.

One other question I have is: So the file is 640x360 but the players inside lightworks play it much smaller. Is there a way to have them play it at the original size?

cheers.

Re: Playing a video import is choppy in lightworks. Are my specs too low to run it?. 6 years, 3 months ago #19129

• sethkersey
  • Junior Boarder
  • 6 years, 3 months ago
This is most likely the cause of the long GOP of the video. Try transcoding to MP2 I-Frame, it should help your playback issues.

Re: Playing a video import is choppy in lightworks. Are my specs too low to run it?. 6 years, 3 months ago #19130

• Frank_the_Tank
  • Junior Boarder
  • 6 years, 3 months ago
Yeah I noticed that transcoding to that MPEG I frame format made the scrubbing really smooth. And I'm on a 32 bit Windows XP with 3gig RAM, and a 6600GT NVIDIA card.