Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Best literature and learning strategy for Lightworks and editing in general

Best literature and learning strategy for Lightworks and editing in general 1 year, 8 months ago #136682

• Zorvan
  • Edu User
  • Junior Boarder
  • 1 year, 8 months ago
Hello.

I am wondering whether there is some kind of source of knowledge on video editing that would help me understand the workflow better. As a beginner, I am just using Lightworks Pro as is offered to me and discovering features on the go. But I find this process quite slow.

I am seeking some advice on learning strategy from some professionals and people more advanced at Lightworks. My problem is that by learning on the go, without any knowledge of how all of this works, I often end up doing something on Lightworks expecting an outcome that's different from the end result and I don't know how to resolve it other than looking it up on forums for advice or just ditch the idea completely.

I want to be more independent and not just proficient in a way that I have repeated my editing process enough times that I simply memorized it.

Could you suggest some literature, sources, or whatever ways you used to advance your skills?

I am doing Youtube videos on economics, technology, political and social commentary and news and my goal is to make them as engaging as possible. And I would like to see where the limits are and how far I could make it.

Thank you.

Re: Best literature and learning strategy for Lightworks and editing in general 1 year, 8 months ago #136683

• briandrys
    Pro User
  • 1 year, 8 months ago
You should look at the Lightworks video tutorials www.lwks.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=162&Itemid=246&start=v12_5 and the User Guide found in downloads > documentation.

Using the YouTube subtitle feature and pausing on a frame may assist, especially if you're following the instructions together with Lightworks.