Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: .MOV file only importing as audio and not video

.MOV file only importing as audio and not video 3 weeks, 2 days ago #214101

I've just downloaded Lightworks and was really excited to get started - but on my first project all but one of my video files are showing as black boxes and only importing audio and not video. All files were filmed using the same iPhone so presumably they all have the same issue...?

I'm a beginner and I don't do technical speak.

Can anyone help me please? I'm including a MediaInfo report as requested (just to prove that I have read the Help section!).
Attachments:
  • Attachment This attachment is hidden for guests. Please log in or register to see it.

Re: .MOV file only importing as audio and not video 3 weeks, 2 days ago #214102

• hugly
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 3 weeks, 2 days ago
Hello,

Thank you for the mediainfo. It shows a recording with the HEVC (h.265) codec which isn't supported with Lightworks V14.5. If you didn't change the recording settings, it's very likely that all files from the same iPhone are recorded with that codec.

Lightworks 2020 beta supports HEVC. It's close to release, so I think you can give it a try.

HEVC is a demanding codec and I don't know the specs of your computer. If you should encounter performance problems when editing, the internal proxy workflow will help:

www.lwks.com/index.php?option=com_kunena&func=view&catid=217&id=194770&Itemid=81#194787
It's better to travel well than to arrive...
Last Edit: 3 weeks, 2 days ago by hugly.

Re: .MOV file only importing as audio and not video 3 weeks, 2 days ago #214103

• briandrys
    Pro User
  • 3 weeks, 2 days ago
Welcome to the forum.

Format : HEVC

V14.5 doesn't support this format,

You've got two choices, either convert with Handbrake before importing into Lightworks following the directions here: www.lwks.com/index.php?option=com_kunena&func=view&catid=23&id=166802&Itemid=81