Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: MP4 import shows only green screen

MP4 import shows only green screen 3 months ago #196241

• radiodave
  • Pro User
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 3 months ago
I'm new to LW & video in general, so maybe I'm missing something. When I import an MP4 video, all I see in LW is a blank green screen. I see lots of discussion about that on this Forum 6 years ago that implies it's a bug and to convert it with EyeFrame. But it looks like EyeFrame is an old program no longer updated. More recent discussions imply LW doesn't come with some codecs. But I would think MP4 is so common it would be natively supported in LW.

I think the video was shot with a Black Magic camera so maybe I can get the raw footage. Or ask the camera person to convert it to something other than MP4. What is is the best format to use with LW?

My MP4 appears to be:
6.45 GB 1:22:50
1920x1080 (16:9), 24 fps, 10989 kbps data rate
audio 160 kbps bit rate, 48 kHz sample rate
AVCHD compression

Thanks for any help.
Last Edit: 3 months ago by radiodave. Reason: add compression type

Re: MP4 import shows only green screen 3 months ago #196242

• briandrys
    Pro User
  • 3 months ago
For more detailed info on your video, please follow the directions in this sticky, so that users can see the technical details.

www.lwks.com/index.php?option=com_kunena&func=view&catid=23&id=66072&Itemid=81

Are you using V14.5?

Lightworks should be able to handle the BlackMagic camera media, it now has initial support for BlackMagic RAW, although that's a less likely format.

Re: MP4 import shows only green screen 3 months ago #196243

• hugly
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 3 months ago
radiodave wrote:
My MP4 appears to be:
6.45 GB 1:22:50
1920x1080 (16:9), 24 fps, 10989 kbps data rate
audio 160 kbps bit rate, 48 kHz sample rate
AVCHD compression