Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Beginner - Importing a video with multiple audio tracks

Beginner - Importing a video with multiple audio tracks 11 months, 3 weeks ago #158373

• Zeverynth-0
  • Pro User
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 11 months, 3 weeks ago
Hi all,

I'm an almost complete beginner and any help is greatly appreciated.

I've recorded 2 audio tracks simultaneously, a mic track and a track from the desktop, and I want to eq and balance them. However, when I import into LW the stereo desktop track has disappeared and been replaced with another copy of the mic track (image 1). If I play the video in VLC both the desktop and mic tracks are options and both play so it's definitely attached to the video (image 2).

It's as if track 2 is being rewritten.

Anybody know what I'm doing wrong?

Regards,

Dean
Attachments:
  • Attachment This image is hidden for guests. Please log in or register to see it.
  • Attachment This image is hidden for guests. Please log in or register to see it.

Re: Beginner - Importing a video with multiple audio tracks 11 months, 3 weeks ago #158374

• lghtwrks
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 11 months, 3 weeks ago
you can download mediaarea.net/de/MediaInfo
for free and post the specs of the prob. video file.
s.

Re: Beginner - Importing a video with multiple audio tracks 11 months, 3 weeks ago #158380

• donkpow
  • Pro User
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 11 months, 3 weeks ago
It's the container format. Try Audacity and extract the audio, import separately.
HP Z600 5570
PNY Quadro K620
SB Audigy SE
Windows 7 Pro
ShuttlePRO v2

Re: Beginner - Importing a video with multiple audio tracks 11 months, 3 weeks ago #158382

• arniepix
    Pro User
  • 11 months, 3 weeks ago
A little more specifically, you recorded your audio to an mp4 video format. That most likely means your audio is saved as AAC, which is highly compressed.

Video editing platforms often have trouble separating AAC and mp3 audio tracks.