Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Lightworks 14.5 PRO nearly unusable...freezing often, sometimes crashes my system.

Lightworks 14.5 PRO nearly unusable...freezing often, sometimes crashes my system. 8 months ago #194770

• thesunray
  • Pro User
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 8 months ago
I use Lightworks rarely so this is my first time since 14.5 came out -- previously, Lightworks on my system was slow to start, and a bit slow when the "Import" files screen was on, but overall, it was usable: playback was smooth, the editing process was responsive...everything worked. I believe I had a few quirks here and there but basically, I loved it so much I felt like getting PRO was something I couldn't pass up.

Now, in 14.5, I'm experiencing all sorts of frustrating errors and hoping there's something I can do in the settings or configuration side to make this stop.

Apropos details about my system:

Intel i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz
16GB System Ram
GeForce GTX 570 Nvidia card (1280MB, I believe?)
Lubuntu LTS 18.04

One question is whether this is a powerful enough system for what I'm doing (just got a drone, was hoping to edit some 4K video it took, but this seems to happen even if I've converted the video to 1080.) Should I bite the bullet and get a different system? (I've maxed out the memory on this one.)

I believe I'm still using the Nouveau driver, which earlier I tried to switch to Nvidia and it didn't work at all -- could this be the issue? Should I try again to use the native Nvidia driver?

Anything else I can check or adjust (caching, maybe?) so that this gets smoother? It will freeze for minutes at a time. And twice in one night it froze my system solid...had to do a hard reboot. Ugh!

Any help or suggestions would be fantastic. I really love Lightworks, hope to see this fixed soon!

Re: Lightworks 14.5 PRO nearly unusable...freezing often, sometimes crashes my system. 8 months ago #194772

• hugly
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 8 months ago
Hello,