Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Video/Audio out of sync when importing media

Video/Audio out of sync when importing media 8 years, 4 months ago #13273

• Peachey
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 8 years, 4 months ago
Hi all,

I am a perfect noob when it comes to this, so please forgive me if I've overlooked the obvious.

I've found it difficult to begin with lightworks because whenever I import a video file, the imported video ends up about 25% shorter than the audio. Have I imported at the wrong frame-rate (I've tried several rates), or is there something else I've missed, such as converting the video to the right format before importing?

I'm running Windows Vista 64-bit, and the files I've been trying to import are MP4 and AVI formats.

Many thanks,

Peachey
The topic has been locked.

Re: Video/Audio out of sync when importing media 8 years, 4 months ago #13274

• SMPse
  • Pro User
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 8 years, 4 months ago
The video is probably using a non-standard frame rate eg. 20 fps.
Insert the clip to an edit, park at the beginning of the clip, open 'Advanced', set 'Speed' to 75% (if it's 25% shorter), drag out the end of the video track to align it to the audio tracks.

EDIT: Shaunthesheep has made a video tutorial about this, here
Last Edit: 8 years, 4 months ago by SMPse. Reason: Adding

Re: Video/Audio out of sync when importing media 8 years, 4 months ago #13708

• Peachey
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 8 years, 4 months ago
Awesome!! Thanks so much for your help - Shaun's other videos have been extra useful as well.

Re: Video/Audio out of sync when importing media 4 years, 5 months ago #94951

I took a video on my phone (Samsung Galaxy S3) which was sync'd perfectly. When uploaded to lightworks it was slightly out of sync..

I have no idea how to fix this.. Please help

Re: Video/Audio out of sync when importing media 4 years, 5 months ago #94954