Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: What Third part software?

What Third part software? 2 months, 4 weeks ago #203954

• Nils Ingvar
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 2 months, 4 weeks ago
Hi,

I'm really new to all this but have owned a Panasonic NV-GS 11 for years. I want to tranfer my movies to the digital domain but there is always something not working out. The movies
is on the mini DV cassettestapes. The camera has three ports a S-video A what I belive
Fireware and also a USB2 port.
I have asked a question abot Lightworks earlier and the is no function to transfer videos to computer. So I went to a store bough a adapter Supervideo to USB2 and the contained a software. Problem is that the software identified my OS as XP Servicepack 2. I'm on windows 10. Trying to uppgrade the software didn't work. I been around the net but can't figure out what to do and what to get. Looking at Panasonics webside didn't hel me since there is no support for my camera. Since I'm ready to buy the licenced version of Lighthouse there is not a lot of money spending for a software just to get the movies into my computer so a freeware could be nice. But I want the best possible quality as I'm planning to use the tapes for new recordings when the transfer is done.
Is S-V the way to go, or is USB beter and if so does USB tranfer sound?

As english is not my native languish I hope I have put this together so you understand my problems.

Re: What Third part software? 2 months, 4 weeks ago #203963

• khaver
  • Pro User
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 2 months, 4 weeks ago
If you have a desktop computer, get a FireWire card and install it. There are freeware apps available to transfer DV to computer by FireWire.
Work Comp: Retired!
Home Comp: Newer! Bigger! Faster!
Send me a tip: paypal.me/4khaver

Re: What Third part software? 2 months, 4 weeks ago #203965

• Nils Ingvar
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 2 months, 4 weeks ago