Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Can't import .MOV files into lightworks

Can't import .MOV files into lightworks 4 months ago #177403

• jonhahaha1
  • Fresh Boarder
  • 4 months ago
Before I begin, I would like for you guys to know that I'm very new to lightworks and have been fiddling with it for about 3 months.

Recently, I've been recording videos on my IPhone 7+ and I wanted to edit them together. I import the files onto my computer through dropbox AND google drive, but neither help with my problem. IPhones automatically save the videos as .MOV files (not sure if there is a way to change that). When I try to import the .MOV files into lightworks, they are only sound files and I have no idea why. I've recorded videos on my IPhone before and they have had success being imported onto lightworks. If there is anything you guys know or even speculate please reply, I would greatly appreciate it. I'm not an expert at video editing or videos at all, so feel free to look at the attachment below to get more info on the video file itself. If this isn't the right category for this problem I apologize.

Re: Can't import .MOV files into lightworks 4 months ago #177404

• briandrys
    Pro User
  • 4 months ago
Welcome to the forum.

Since you're using a phone, which uses a variable frame rate, rather than a constant one. MOV is just a wrapper.

The V14.5 RC5 beta now supports variable frame rates (except AVI files), so it would be worth checking it out. It’s close to release, so is pretty stable; however, this is a new feature in this build being beta tested. It can be downloaded from the same page as V14.