Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Lightworks using huge amounts of memory

Lightworks using huge amounts of memory 2 years, 3 months ago #151923

So I've been using Lightworks free for about 3 years now and I just recently downloaded the brand new version on 64.bit. The previous versions have worked fine on my PC whilst I've had other windows open simultaneously like Google, iTunes and Photoshop, however since getting this new version, my programme is using up basically all of my usable RAM on my PC, without Google or any other window open, I launch Lightworks and open my task manager, and eventually I can see it's using almost 5,500mb of memory at most, 98% of all memory. If I persist with it and try to open a project, my entire PC freezes and I'm forced to hard-restart the whole thing.

Admittedly, I'm not a total computer whizz but I may understand some basic functions (if any) to solve this issue. If anybody can give any advice on how this has started happening and how I can stop it for the future, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Re: Lightworks using huge amounts of memory 2 years, 3 months ago #151938

• hugly
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 2 years, 3 months ago
Hello and welcome!

As far as I know Windows doesn't provide any user-adjustable method to limit maximum memory size for a certain process except on Windows server installations, but Windows handles dynamic memory requests in most cases balanced, you shouldn't see problems with other applications.

Extremely high memory consumption during playback in Lightworks could be caused by highly compressed media with long keyframe distances, such as AVC in MP4 containers. Converting this kind of media prior to import to more edit-friendly formats might help to reduce memory consumption.