Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
Anything that doesn't fit into any other category.
  • Page:

TOPIC: Updates and support

Updates and support 1 month ago #213808

• daylife
  • Pro User
  • Expert Boarder
  • 1 month ago
I'm a documentary filmmaker and freelance editor, and for a long time I've been keeping an eye on Lightworks (my first post on this forum was over 9 years ago!). Lately I've been cutting a few commissioned projects on it, and so far I'm really impressed. The people at EditShare have done an amazing job with the improvements they brought to the software since they took over development, and I think most new features are spot on. I love the interface and the way the timeline and especially trimming works. There are a lot of minor shortcomings, but I will save those for individual feature requests.

While my plan is to leave Avid behind for my next documentary, I'm a little bit concerned about updates and support. Version 14.5 was released in October 2018. No patches have been released ever since. 14.5 has a number of bugs, some of which are hindering my work on a daily basis, so zero patches in over 16 months is... not a lot.

With the rename to 2020.1, am I correct in assuming that the plan is to release multiple versions a year? Please do so, because I care about bugfixes, much more than I care about new features. Lightworks would really benefit from some bugfix-only patches after major versions have been released.

About support: currently there's the choice for either no support, or extensive support with a pretty high price tag. Both are not ideal for me. It would be good if there was an option for a limited kind of support (for example, only technical help by email) for a considerably lower price than the current support option.

Re: Updates and support 1 month ago #213809

• hugly
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 1 month ago
Hello,