Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
Anything that doesn't fit into any other category.

TOPIC: Total Noob With Loads of Noob Type Questions...

Total Noob With Loads of Noob Type Questions... 4 months, 2 weeks ago #197084

• VBR
  • Junior Boarder
  • 4 months, 2 weeks ago
Hi guys & gals,

I'm building a budget PC for video editing & gaming, & ain't got a scooby doo when it comes to former. So, I have some noob type questions; apologies for any ignorance in advance.

1) I already have an i5 4690k on an old Gigabyte GA Z77 HD3 mobo With 16gb of Kingston KVR13N9S8/4 RAM, which my budget system will be built upon. The recommended specs for Lightworks is an i7 3xxx, but will it still run on my i5?

2) I'm thinking of using a RAID 0 SSD set up for my scratch drive, as I have 2x SATA III & 4x SATA II connections on the mobo. What would be fastest/best; 2x SSDs on the SATA III, or 4x SSDs on the SATA II, or would they be about the same speed?

3) I have this crazy ass idea about multicam editing with anywhere between 20 to 30 video tracks in ProRes 422 (720p/30 to 1080p/30) on this setup; am I being "optimistic", is this possible, or is there another way?

4) Will lightworks run on a gaming graphics card instead like an NVIDIA GTX 770 or GTX 980?

Any & all help will be very much appreciated.

Kind Regards,

VBR.

PS: I've been reading up a bit over the last few days trying to educate myself, but am not sure I'm understanding everything correctly...
Last Edit: 4 months, 2 weeks ago by VBR.

Re: Total Noob With Loads of Noob Type Questions... 4 months, 2 weeks ago #197085

• hugly
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 4 months, 2 weeks ago
Hello,

Do I understand correctly, you are setting up a well performing budget PC and your benchmark is the performance of the free version of Lightworks?
It's better to travel well than to arrive...

Re: Total Noob With Loads of Noob Type Questions... 4 months, 2 weeks ago #197087

• VBR
  • Junior Boarder
  • 4 months, 2 weeks ago