Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Some really useful hints for new users!

Some really useful hints for new users! 7 years, 9 months ago #5580

• frandesouza
  • Pro User
  • Platinum Boarder
  • 7 years, 9 months ago
As I'm a Lightworks beginner too, I'm not posting this from an expert's point of view, just sharing a few impressions that may be helpful to someone that just downloaded LW and feels such lost as I when I did it.
I guess my first mistake with Lightworks was to assume it must respond to my actions the same way that Premiere and other Windows NLE do, mainly in trimming tasks.

Understanding "Click and Drag" vs "Mark and Park" issue was the key to enjoy my experience with LW.
Every one who works under a Windows environment knows to "click and drag", "drag and drop", copy/cut and paste, etc. Right click with the mouse and you have a context menu...and, off course, "File", "Edit", "Help" and other "Windows menu bar options" in almost every application.
All NLE software I used are meant to be "Windows user friendly", wich make every windows user a
potential video editor because these software reproduce exactly the Windows's workflow.

Before I starting to work with NLE software, I edited video with 2 VCRs connected to a videomixer and a recorder. That previous experience gave me many clues to understand the "Mark and Park" method, because when I worked that way, I didn't click and drag, I only pressed buttons and used the shuttle control. Lightworks workflow makes me remind that way of doing things, I guess because it was developed at first to satisfy editors demands, reproducing the environment they were used to work at. (If I am wrong, please, correct me, it's only the way I feel about it).

Off course, there is click and drag in LW, it's just slightly different (pay close attention to the icons displayed when you hover the mouse over objects in the timeline -stripview in LW-).