Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Color Correction

Color Correction 3 years, 5 months ago #10860

• wapanap
  • Fresh Boarder
I'm a newbie so pls bear with the elementary nature of my questions! I want to color edit a video segment. Chapter 9 of the manual tells me I have to go to an Add Effects > Video: Color menu. I simply cannot find this. I have a viewer and a timeline window open.

My second related question is can one import LUTs into Lightworks, and if so, how?

Re: Color Correction 3 years, 5 months ago #10861

• SMPse
  • Pro User
  • Platinum Boarder
On the timeline (Edit) click on 'Effects..' in the lower right corner. The 'Add Effects' panel should open and here you go to Video: Colour-> Colour Correction.

No LUTs import at the moment.

Re: Color Correction 3 years, 5 months ago #10863

There is a MagicBullet AE plug-in called LUTBuddy that may provide the LUT features you require. Registration is required, but it is free.

www.redgiantsoftware.com/downloads/free-products/

EDIT: I have not used this plug-in yet, so I can't verify it will work correctly.

EDIT 2: Unfortunately I can't seem to get LUTBuddy to work correctly. It loads but crashed Lightworks on several attempts.
Last Edit: 3 years, 5 months ago by sethkersey.

Re: Color Correction 3 years, 5 months ago #10890

• wapanap
  • Fresh Boarder
How do you install this plug-in for Lightworks, given it is for Adobe After Effects and Premiere Pro?

Re: Color Correction 3 years, 5 months ago #10891

• wapanap
  • Fresh Boarder
Thanks for that. To make an effect permanent, one has to make a copy of the clip with the effect in place?

Re: Color Correction 3 years, 5 months ago #10894

• THL
  • Expert Boarder
To make an effect permanent as in having it applied to the clip but not showing up in any way, I believe you need to export it and reimport it. Kinda beats the purpose of non-destructive editing, however.

Re: Color Correction 3 years, 5 months ago #10898

• khaver