Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Windows 8.1 Pro - Unable to start Lightworks 11.1

Windows 8.1 Pro - Unable to start Lightworks 11.1 5 months, 2 weeks ago #55591

• Kjotle
  • Fresh Boarder
I have upgraded from Windows 8 Pro to Windows 8.1 Pro.

After the upgrade Lightworks refuses to start. I always get the message "The application was unable to start correctly (0x0000142).

For your information: I have just recently downloaded and installed the 11.1 version of Lightworks (the trial-version), so I'm not too familiar with how to use the software itself, yet. If I could just get it to work on Win 8.1 Pro, I may better be able to judge the potential strengths and weaknesses of Lightworks.

I am not an expert when it comes to installing programs. So "high-tech" language may not be understood completely by me.

I am reasonably ok in English, though. So a nice and easy explanation of why win 8.1 pro is worse than win 8 pro in this matter would be appreciated.

And what I can do to fix it would be great...

Anyone...

Yours Sincerely
Kjetil Hvattum
Norway
Last Edit: 5 months, 2 weeks ago by Kjotle. Reason: spelling error

Re: Windows 8.1 Pro - Unable to start Lightworks 11.1 5 months, 2 weeks ago #55595

• rhinox202
  • Pro User
  • Platinum Boarder
You didn't say but it sounds like you are trying to run the 64-bit build of Lightworks on Windows 8.1. If so, this is a known issue and was just recently fixed in the Beta. You can download said Beta by signing up here or you can use the 32-bit version until the next stable version of Lightworks (11.1.1) is released. This should be in the next couple of weeks. Unless you are going to contribute in the form of testing/bug-reporting, signing up for the Beta isn't really necessary. Not to mention the 64-bit build currently has many limitations. You're better off installing Lightworks 32-bit for now. It's available on the Downloads page. Good luck!