Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

TOPIC: LINUX SUPPORT

Re: LINUX SUPPORT 1 year, 10 months ago #22993

Forum Admin wrote:
@Pinkflood said
easy for beginners

But I'm a beginner with Linux, so I'd need that!

Also, we want it to be as easy as possible to install, across a wide range of computers.

I know a lot of developers who use Ubuntu - not just at Editshare.

All interesting comments, though.

I'll drop my 2 cents in this discussion. I consider that Ubuntu (the unity and prior Gnome2 release) is brilliant, however I tend to agree with Pinkflood. The brilliance is that Canonical/Shuttleworth/De Icaza saw a gap between the "geek" and "the user". They aimed for this gap and invited the user, made their own market. Today I think they feel they need to reap what they sawed and aim for a tablet market (atleast that's what I consider Unity desktop might be good for).

However, my personal opinion I never really liked Gnome and went with KDE and Kubuntu. I find that the user friendliness in the Ubuntu philosophy is to scale down (i.e remove some possibilities) to optimize the system for the users need, to avoid many loop holes. With KDE/Kubuntu I come across some of those problems that hardly ever is seen in Ubuntu/Gnome/Unity, but I'm willing to have those problems for the sake of optimizing to my needs. I'm sure that Ubuntu/unity will be a great option to test/advocate by Editshare. Another option could be Linux Mint. I've never tested Mint myself but reviews are always good, and I think that the Cinnamon(Gnome3 fork) and Mate (pron; MAH-teh)(Gnome2 fork) DEs is appreciated by many *buntu users, plus Mint got a debian version now which is a rolling release Sid (Sid - unstable/test version), so no need for bi-annual upgrades and brakages. (tip to Forum Admin - give Mint a spin, unless you're a die-hard fan of Unity) I would agree anyone who say that KDE is to bloated and a resource hog compared to other DE's (LXDE and Xdfc etc mentioned above).